The Massachusetts Children’s Book Award (MCBA) was established as a program to encourage children to read great books. The children themselves vote for the book they think deserves to be named the book of the year. The award was started in 1975 by Dr. Helen Constant. The award program was developed because children in intermediate grades seemed to lose interest in reading after learning how to read. The award is sponsored by Salem State College in Salem, Massachusetts.


The current Master List with grade level guide and summaries can be found here
For more information on the Massachusetts Book Awards see the Massachusetts Children’s Book Award site at Salem State College


Here is a list of the books that PTA purchased so the 4th graders could participate:

El Deafo by:  C. Bell

The Witch’s Boy by:  K. Barnhill

The Water Castle by:  M.F. Blakemore

Out of Bounds by:  F. Bowen

The Buddy Files: The Case of the School Ghost   by:  D.H. Butler

Fish Finelli Book 1: Seagulls Don’t Eat Pickles   by:  E.S. Farber

Absolutely Almost   by: L. Graff

The Time Fetch   by: A. Herrick

The Fourteenth Goldfish   by:  J.L. Holm

Zeus and the Thunderbolt of Doom (Heroes in Training) by: J. Holub & S. Williams

Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer by: K. Jones

The Adventures of a South Pole Pig: A novel of snow and courage by: C. Kurtz

Bliss by: K. Littlewood

A Snicker of Magic   by:  N. Lloyd

Anton and Cecil, Book 1: Cats at Sea by: L. Martin & V. Martin

Quinny & Hopper by:  A.B. Schanen

I Survived: The Great Chicago Fire, 1871 by: L. Tarshis

Loot: How to Steal a Fortune by: J. Watson

Mystery on Pine Lake: Cooper and Packrat by: T. Wright

Advertising helps supplement this free website by | Disable Ads Here